Watershed Management Program

Mike Ell

Program Manager - 701.328.5214


Nonpoint Source Pollution Prevention Program   Active Project Map

The North Dakota NPS Management Program mission is to protect or restore the chemical, physical, and biological integrity of the waters of the state by promoting locally sponsored, incentive based, voluntary programs where those waters are threatened or impaired due to nonpoint sources of pollution. Our goal for the NPS Management Program is to initiate a balanced program focused on the restoration and maintenance of the beneficial uses of the States water resources (i.e. streams, rivers, lakes, reservoirs, wetlands, aquifers) impaired by NPS pollution.

TMDL/Watershed Liaison Program   Total Maximum Dailiy Loads

The Total Maximum Daily Load/Watershed Liaison Program was created to develop TMDLs and make support easier to access for groups interested in sponsoring TMDLs and those currently involved with a watershed project. A TMDL is the amount of a particular pollutant that a particular stream, lake, estuary or other waterbody can "handle" without violating state water quality standards. Of course, this is a greatly simplified explanation! Once a TMDL is established, responsibility for reducing pollution among both point sources (pipes) and diffuse sources is assigned. Diffuse sources include, but are not limited to, run-off (urban, agricultural, forestry, etc.), leaking underground storage tanks, unconfined aquifers, septic systems, stream channel alteration, and damage to a riparian area.

Nutrient Reduction Strategy   Nutrient Reduction Strategy

Nutrient pollution is caused by the overabundance of phosphorus and nitrogen in the aquatic environment. Excessive nitrogen and phosphorus in water can cause health problems in people, fish and animals, and damage our lakes, rivers, reservoirs, streams and wetlands. Excessive phosphorus and nitrogen may also result in increased costs to treat water for human consumption from surface water supplies.

Basin Framework Strategy   Basin Framework Strategy

The purpose of the Basin Framework is to guide water quality management, planning and implementation through a targeted basin management approach. This basin water quality management planning process will promote more coordinated data and information collection and sharing, increased availability of technical and financial resources, and more focused and effective water quality management activities

Email List (click to expand) then click "Program" to sort

Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5213
Collins Jim jcollins@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5161
Crowdus Kory kCrowdus@nd.gov WQ Spill Release 701.328.5202
Ell Mike mell@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5214
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5234
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5242
Guiliani Bill wgiuliani@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5285
Hargiss Mike mhargiss@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.499.5209
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5234
Harries Alison aharries@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5217
Husband Heather hduchsch@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.537.2043
Kannenberg Derek dkannenberg@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5296
Lang Jeremiah jmlang@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5219
Larsen Aaron allarsen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5230
Nett Joseph jnett@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5227
Nieraeth Shawna sNeiraeth@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5267
Ogorman Brian bogorman@nd.gov WQ Spill Release 701.328.5177
Olson Paul paulrolson@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5233
Peterson Andrew awpeterson@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5294
Piper Dianna dpiper@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701.328.5210
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701.328.5212
Roerick Jeffrey jroerick@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5240
Sandness Greg gsandnes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5232
Sandvick Duane dsandvick@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5260
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5235
Souder Taylor tSouder@nd.gov WQ Spill Release 701.328.5236
Starr Sarah sstarr@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5215
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Release 701.328.5241
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Release 701.328.5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.6409
Swanberg Samantha sswanberg@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5239
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5237
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5268