Spill Investigation Program

Environmental Incident Reporting



Spill Reporting

Any spill or discharge of liquid or solid (not gaseous) waste which may cause pollution of waters of the state must be reported immediately (NDAC 33-16-02.1-11 paragraph 4, bottom of page 17). The owner, operator, or person responsible for a spill or discharge must notify the department as soon as possible or the Department of Emergency Services. Depending on the severity of the spill or accidental discharge, the department may require the owner or operator to:

  • Take immediate remedial measures;
  • Determine the extent of pollution to waters of the state;
  • Provide alternate water sources to water users impacted by the spill or accidental discharge; or
  • Any other actions necessary to protect human health and the environment.

Reportable Quanitities


Contact Numbers

  • North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality (1-701-328-5210)
  • North Dakota Oil and Gas Division (1-701-328-8020)
  • North Dakota Department of Emergency Services (1-701-328-8100) or (1-800-472-2121 State Radio 24-Hour Hotline - valid only in North Dakota.)

If there is any question as to proper response call one of the listed agencies and provide all relevant information about the incident.


Oilfield Related Incident Report Form - Link

 

(If the report incident button on this form does not display another form, try adding the URL of the form to the trusted sites on your internet browser.)

This form is only for RCRA-exempt releases in the oilfield. This will generally include:

  • Produced fluids such as crude oil, water, or oil/water emulsion before ownership transfer takes place, (i.e. a release from the producer's lease, flow lines, or tank battery before being trucked off-site or going into crude transportation pipeline.)
  • Brine water from a commercial disposal facility.
  • Condensate from gas lines or gas plant before leaving the gas plant in the transportation pipeline.

Please Note:

  • Releases of crude oil or produced water from truck transport are not exempt and should use the General Environmental Incident Report Form link below.
  • Releases of crude oil or other non-gaseous petroleum products from transportation pipelines are not exempt and should use the General Environmental Incident Report Form link below .
  • Releases of non-oilfield-produced substances, even when released on an oil lease, are not exempt and should use the General Environmental Incident Report Form link below. This would include spills such as fuel for rig motors, acid for well stimulation, etc.

General Environmental Incident Report Form - Please Open Link in CHROME

(Includes Non-exempt Oilfield Related Incidents)

This form should be used for any environmental incident or release that is not exempt under the RCRA oilfield exemptions. This will generally include:

  • Any spill which may potentially have adverse effects to human health or the environment.
  • Any incident or spill which may potentially impact waters of the state, either surface water or ground water.
  • All substances are included, not just "hazardous materials."  Recent examples that a person may not normally think of as having a  potential impact to the environment, include "non toxic" substances such as molasses or salt.  These may not be immediately harmful to human health, but they may impact aquatic life or soil fertility.

Please Note:

  • Sometimes an environmental incident does not actually result in a release to the environment, but should still be reported. Examples might include the loss of a sealed radiation source or a traffic accident involving hazardous chemicals, even if the containers did not break open.
  • Releases of crude oil or produced water from truck transport are not exempt and should use the General Environmental Incident Report Form.
  • Releases of crude oil or other non-gaseous petroleum products from transportation pipelines are not exempt and should use the General Environmental Incident Report Form.
  • Releases of non-oilfield-produced substances, even when released on an oil lease, are not exempt and should use the General Environmental Incident Report Form. This would include spills such as fuel for rig motors, acid for well stimulation, etc.

Emergency Response

Some releases may require immediate response by trained emergency personnel. This will be coordinated through the Department of Health, Division of Emergency Management and any other state or local emergency response agencies that may be needed.


Environmental Investigation and Cleanup

Some releases may require additional investigation beyond initial clean up to determine full impacts to the environment.  This may include soil borings and samples, monitoring wells and groundwater samples, etc. 

Investigations of Contaminant Release Sites  (11/06 pdf format)

Environmental Site Investigation Report  (11/06 pdf format)


Cleanup Standards

Action levels have been set for petroleum compounds and drinking water maximum contaminant levels may also be used as action levels.  Final standards for cleanup are determined on a case-by-case basis, depending on the contaminant involved and potential for risk to human health and the environment.

Cleanup Action Levels for Gasoline and Other Petroleum Hydrocarbons  (12/06 pdf)


Property Transfer Assessments

If any type of soil or water contamination is found during a property transfer assessment, or in the course of any other activity, that contamination must be reported to the Department of Environmental Quality.  The fact that it may have been a previously unknown, or historic release does not eliminate the reporting requirements.


Water Quality Division Employee Email List (click to expand)

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5213
Budde Nick nrbudde@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5267
Carlson Maren mjcarlson@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5230
Christensen Emily eachristensen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5243
Collins Jim jcollins@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5161
Crowdus Kory kCrowdus@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5202
DeVries Sam sgDeVries@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5215
DeVries Taylor tlDeVries@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5236
Dummer Jacob jdummer@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5296
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5228
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5242
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5234
Harries Alison aharries@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5217
Husband Heather hhusband@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-771-7367
Jeannotte Tyson tlJeannotte@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5219
Joynt Emily eJoynt@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5239
Kaiser Don dkaiser@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5151
Kitzes Edwin eKitzes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5253
Kramer Nic njKramer@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5240
Larsen Aaron allarsen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5230
Lightfoot Allison aLightfoot@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5285
Lund Dylan dLund@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5169
Nett Joseph jnett@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5227
O'Gorman Brian bogorman@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5177
Olson Paul paulrolson@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5233
Piper Dianna dpiper@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5210
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5212
Roth Taylor troth@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5294
Sandness Greg gsandnes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5232
Schick McKenzie mschick@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5288
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5235
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5241
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-6409
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5237
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Special Projects 701-328-5268
Wert Joshua jewert@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5214