ND Watershed Boundary Dataset

The Watershed Boundary Dataset, or WBD, is part of the hydrography framework data for the nation. The WBD defines the perimeters of surface water drainage areas, or hydrologic units, formed by the terrain and other landscape characteristics. A hydrologic unit (HU) is delineated by hydrologists based on topography and surface water drainage, not political or administrative boundaries.

Drainage areas of the WBD are delineated to nest in a multi-level, hierarchical arrangement. At a minimum, the WBD has been delineated to U.S. Geological Survey 1:24,000-scale topographic maps.  These data were created using the same set of hydrologic unit delineation standards across the entire country thereby creating a base-line drainage framework for the entire United States.

 



HUCs and the WBD?

Hydrologic units are given a Hydrologic Unit Code (HUC). A HUC describes where the unit is in the country and the level of the unit. For example, a hydrologic region has a 2-digit HUC. The number of digits in the HUC reflect the "level".

The WBD that is distributed on the ND GIS Hub Data Portal is a subset of the nationwide WBD; it contains only those regions (HU2), subregions (HU4), basins (HU6), subbasins (HU8), watersheds (HU10) and subwatersheds (HU12), and subwatershed lines (HU12 Line only) that touch the borders of North Dakota.

 


Water Quality Division Employee Email List (click to expand)

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5213
Brazil Emily ebrazil@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5296
Dahl Lane ldDahl@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5222
Delzer Alexis adelzer@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5282
DeVries Taylor tlDeVries@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5236
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5228
Galloway Noah ngalloway WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5253
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5242
Hanson Lawrence lawrence.hanson@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5291
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5234
Harrison Kylee kharrison@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5187
Houle Brian bHoule@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5193
Joynt Emily eJoynt@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5239
Kaiser Don dkaiser@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5151
Kritzberger Ryan rKritzberger@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-9035
Kruske Montana mkruske@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5172
Malchose Jordan jnmalchose@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5289
McCauley Jenna Jenna.McCauley@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management
Miller Meridith meridith.miller@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5166
Nelson Amber amjnelson@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5210
Novak Emilee ejnovak@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5240
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5225
Schick McKenzie mschick@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5288
Schiwal Alyssa aschiwal@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5159
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5235
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5241
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-6409
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5237
Wallery Paige pWallery@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5243
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Special Projects 701-328-5268
Wert Joshua jewert@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5214
Woutat Tanner twoutat@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5233
Zittleman Julianna jzittleman@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5285