Septic Pumper Permits

The septic pumper program regulates the use and disposal of domestic septage while protecting public health from unsanitary and unhealthful practices and conditions; and to protect surface waters and groundwaters of the state from contamination by septage. A person wishing to engage in the business of servicing septic systems must obtain a permit from the department.

Septic pumper permits are issued on a yearly basis. The timetable for permitting is:

  • Permit renewal for the next year begins November 1.

  • All permits expire on December 31.

  • Deadline for renewal is March 1 of the following year.

Any renewal application postmarked after March 1 will pay fees as a new applicant.



Septic Pumper Manual

The guidance manual for the septic pumper rules undergoes revisions as new information and technologies are developed. Click here for the current version.

Land Application

Land application is permitted and is subject to the federal requirements for land application of septage.

Exam/Training

The Annual Septic Pumper Exam consists of 20 questions and requires a score of 70% to pass.  All questions are derived from NDAC 33.1-21-02. A certificate can be printed upon completion and is good for one year from date of issuance. 

A hardcopy of the exam may be requested and will be graded upon return to the Department. A certificate of completion will be mailed back to you if the exam is 70% or higher. 

The exam can be taken as many times as needed to obtain a certificate. 

In-person training is required once every 5 years.


Water Quality Division Employee Email List (click to expand)

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5213
Budde Nick nrbudde@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5267
Carlson Maren mjcarlson@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5230
Christensen Emily eachristensen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5243
Collins Jim jcollins@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5161
Crowdus Kory kCrowdus@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5202
DeVries Sam sgDeVries@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5215
DeVries Taylor tlDeVries@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5236
Dummer Jacob jdummer@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5296
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5228
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5242
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5234
Harries Alison aharries@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5217
Husband Heather hhusband@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-771-7367
Jeannotte Tyson tlJeannotte@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5219
Joynt Emily eJoynt@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5239
Kaiser Don dkaiser@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5151
Kitzes Edwin eKitzes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5253
Kramer Nic njKramer@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5240
Larsen Aaron allarsen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5230
Lightfoot Allison aLightfoot@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5285
Lund Dylan dLund@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5169
Nett Joseph jnett@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5227
O'Gorman Brian bogorman@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5177
Olson Paul paulrolson@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5233
Piper Dianna dpiper@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5210
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5212
Roth Taylor troth@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5294
Sandness Greg gsandnes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5232
Schick McKenzie mschick@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5288
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5235
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5241
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-6409
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5237
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Special Projects 701-328-5268
Wert Joshua jewert@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5214