Septic Pumper Permits

The septic pumper program regulates the use and disposal of domestic septage while protecting public health from unsanitary and unhealthful practices and conditions; and to protect surface waters and groundwaters of the state from contamination by septage. A person wishing to engage in the business of servicing septic systems must obtain a permit from the department.

Septic pumper permits are issued on a yearly basis. The timetable for permitting is:

  • Permit renewal for the next year begins November 1.

  • All permits expire on December 31.

  • Deadline for renewal is March 1 of the following year.

  Any application postmarked after March 1 will pay fees as a new applicant.



Septic Pumper Manual

The guidance manual for the septic pumper rules undergoes revisions as new information and technologies are developed. Click here for the current version.

Land Application

Land application is permitted and is subject to the federal requirements for land application of septage.

Exam/Training

The Annual Septic Pumper Exam consists of 20 questions and requires a score of 70% to pass.  All questions are derived from NDAC 33-21-02. A certificate can be printed upon completion and is good for one year from date of issuance. 

A hardcopy of the exam may be requested and will be graded upon return to the Department. A certificate of completion will be mailed back to you if the exam is 70% or higher. 

The exam can be taken as many times as needed to obtain a certificate. 

In-person training is required once every 5 years.


Email List (click to expand) then click "Program" to sort

Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater - Program Manager 701.328.5213
Collins James jcollins@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - TMDLs 701.328.5161
Crowdus Kory kcrowdus@nd.gov WQ — Spill Investigation 701.328.5202
Ell Mike mell@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - Program Manager 701.328.5214
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ — Permits/Spill Investigation 701.328.5228
Giuliani Bill wgiuliani@nd.gov WQ — Permits 701.328.5285
Gleich Casey ctgleich@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater 701.328.4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - Database Mgmt 701.328.5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Stormwater 701.328.5242
Hargiss Mike mhargiss@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - TMDLs 701.499.5209
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Program Manager 701.328.5234
Harries Alison aharries@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater - Database Mgmt 701.328.5217
Husband Heather hduchsch@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - TMDLs 701.537.2043
Kannenberg Derek dKannenberg@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater 701.328.5296
Lang Jeremy jmlang@nd.gov WQ — Permits - CAFO/AFO 701.328.5219
Larsen Aaron allarsen@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management 701.328.5230
Nett Joe jnett@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management 701.328.5227
Nieraeth Shawna sNieraeth@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater 701.328.5267
O'Gorman Brian bogorman@nd.gov WQ — Spill Investigation 701.328.5177
Olson Paul paulrolson@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management 701.328.5233
Peterson Andrew awpeterson@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater 701.328.5294
Piper Dianna dpiper@nd.gov WQ — Administrative 701.328.5210
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov WQ — Director 701.328.5225
Roerick Jeff jroerick@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Discharges 701.328.5240
Sandness Greg gsandnes@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - NPS 701.328.5232
Sandvick Duane dsandvick@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Stormwater 701.328.5260
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Database Mgmt 701.328.5235
Souder Taylor tSouder@nd.gov WQ — Spill Investigation 701.328.5236
Starr Sarah sstarr@nd.gov WQ — Permits - 701.328.5215
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ — Spill Investigation 701.328.5241
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ — Permits - CAFO/AFO 701.328.5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ — Spill Investigation - Program Manager 701.328.5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater 701.328.6409
Swanberg Samantha sswanberg@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Stormwater 701.328.5239
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ — Permits - 701.328.5237
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ — Special Projects 701.328.5268
Wells Whitney wwells@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - TMDLs 701.328.5253