Stormwater Permits

Stormwater runoff and snow melt can pick up chemicals, bacteria, sediment, and debris from urban areas, construction sites, and industrial facilities. Runoff that enters a storm sewer or ditch does not go to a lagoon or treatment plant. Instead, runoff flows directly to rivers, lakes, and streams without any treatment.

Stormwater permits provide a level of treatment through planning and management that minimizes pollution in runoff from urban areas, construction sites, and industrial facilities.

There are no fees for stormwater permits. For more information please email stormwater@nd.gov.

 


Construction Permits

Construction Permits: The construction general permit applies to construction projects that disturb one or more acres including smaller projects within or part of a large development.

1. Develop Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan (SWPPP) to minimize pollution from soil erosion and other sources

2a. Submit an electronic Notice of Intent and mail an original signed copy no later than seven days before construction starts
or
2b. Submit a Notice of Intent through the Electronic Reporting System (ERIS)

3. Implement the SWPPP to minimize pollution from soil erosion and other sources like fuel, oil, and waste

4. Monitor the site and complete inspections

5. Submit a notice of termination once final stabilization has been met

A project is automatically covered under the permit seven days after the department receives the notice of intent.

Coverage under the permit is required for oil and gas projects if runoff from the project can carry eroded material to a water of the state. Coverage is not required for oil and gas projects if runoff will not carry eroded material to a water of the state.

Industrial Permits

Industrial facilities must follow the industrial stormwater permit, also known as the multi-sector general permit. Facilities must implement a stormwater pollution prevention plan to minimize pollutants in runoff. Facilities conduct quarterly inspections to ensure the plan is implemented. Fifteen categories of industrial activity conduct stormwater sampling.

Find your facility's SIC code on the OSHA Website. See the EPA Website to find out if your facility requires a permit.

Mining, Extraction & Paving Material Permits

Mining, extraction, and paving material preparation (MEPM) facilities must follow the MEPM stormwater permit and implement a stormwater pollution prevention plan to minimize pollutants in runoff. Facilities conduct quarterly inspections to ensure the plan is implemented and submit annual inspection reports. Seven categories of MEPM facilities conduct stormwater sampling. Portable operations submit location reports to the department.

Municipal Seperate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4)

Municipal separate storm sewer systems, or MS4s, are public storm sewer systems in or around more populated cities in the state. Regulated MS4s are required to develop a program to minimize the discharge of pollutants from their storm sewer system. MS4s provide a summary of their program to the department each year.

Water Quality Division Employee Email List (click to expand)

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5213
Budde Nick nrbudde@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5267
Carlson Maren mjcarlson@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5230
Christensen Emily eachristensen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5243
Collins Jim jcollins@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5161
Crowdus Kory kCrowdus@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701.328.5202
DeVries Sam sgDeVries@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5215
DeVries Taylor tlDeVries@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701.328.5236
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5228
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5242
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5234
Harries Alison aharries@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5217
Husband Heather hhusband@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.537.2043
Jeannotte Tyson tlJeannotte@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5219
Joynt Emily eJoynt@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5239
Kaiser Don dkaiser@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5151
Kitzes Edwin eKitzes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5253
Kramer Nic njKramer@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5240
Larsen Aaron allarsen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5230
Lightfoot Allison aLightfoot@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5285
Lund Dylan dLund@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701.328-5169
Nett Joseph jnett@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5227
O'Gorman Brian bogorman@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5177
Olson Paul paulrolson@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5233
Piper Dianna dpiper@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701.328.5210
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701.328.5212
Roth Taylor troth@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5294
Sandness Greg gsandnes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5232
Schick McKenzie mschick@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5288
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5235
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701.328.5241
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701.328.5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.6409
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5237
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Special Projects 701.328.5268
Wert Joshua jewert@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5214