AFO/CAFO Permits

The North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality has the statutory responsibility to control the pollution of surface waters, groundwaters, and the air of the state. Water Quality Standards have been developed and adopted for the surface waters of North Dakota, as provided by the Water Quality Act of 1965. An extensive Water Pollution Control Act, addressing among other things the control of livestock waste, was adopted by the 1967 state legislature. The Rules and Regulations for the Control of Pollution from Certain Livestock Enterprises were first issued in 1972 by the State Health Department and updated in 1989 and 2005. 

State law prohibits the following practices.

  1. Feeding of livestock on ice.

  2. Feeding of livestock or handling livestock waste in any way that would allow the waste to directly enter or be washed into these waters of the state by runoff from rain or snow melt.


Do I Need A Permit? - This document is currently being revised. It will be available upon completion.

AFO Comparison Chart - This document is currently being revised. It will be available upon completion.

Application Form


Recycling Manure

Livestock waste (Manure) is a valuable resource when used properly. It provides essential nutrients, organic matter, and moisture to cropland. However, these nutrients, which are so beneficial to crops and soils, can have detrimental effects when carried into surface waters or groundwater. In surface waters, they may cause large growths of algae (algal blooms), resulting in fish kills and decreased recreational opportunities. Nutrients in groundwater may contaminate drinking water wells. Our challenge then is to use livestock waste as a resource for food production, but prevent it from polluting surface or groundwater resources.


Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation County and Township Zoning Regulations

Zoning Regulations


Water Quality Division Employee Email List (click to expand)

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5213
Budde Nick nrbudde@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5267
Carlson Maren mjcarlson@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5230
Christensen Emily eachristensen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5243
Collins Jim jcollins@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5161
Crowdus Kory kCrowdus@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5202
DeVries Sam sgDeVries@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5215
DeVries Taylor tlDeVries@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5236
Dummer Jacob jdummer@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5296
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5228
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5242
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5234
Harries Alison aharries@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5217
Husband Heather hhusband@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-771-7367
Jeannotte Tyson tlJeannotte@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5219
Joynt Emily eJoynt@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5239
Kaiser Don dkaiser@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5151
Kitzes Edwin eKitzes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5253
Kramer Nic njKramer@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5240
Larsen Aaron allarsen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5230
Lightfoot Allison aLightfoot@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5285
Lund Dylan dLund@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5169
Nett Joseph jnett@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5227
O'Gorman Brian bogorman@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5177
Olson Paul paulrolson@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5233
Piper Dianna dpiper@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5210
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5212
Roth Taylor troth@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5294
Sandness Greg gsandnes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5232
Schick McKenzie mschick@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5288
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5235
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5241
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-6409
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5237
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Special Projects 701-328-5268
Wert Joshua jewert@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5214