Pretreatment Permits

The Industrial Pretreatment Program prevents the discharge of pollutants to Publicly-Owned Treatment Works (POTWs) which will interfere with the operations of the POTW or its use and disposal of municipal biosolids. In addition, the Pretreatment Program prevents the introduction of pollutants to POTWs that may pass through into rivers, lakes, and streams causing toxicity or other impacts. Implementation of the Pretreatment Program is defined at 40 CFR Part 403. These regulations describe the responsibility of the EPA, states, POTWs, and industrial users in protecting the POTWs, sewer systems, biosolids, receiving waters, and worker health and safety. You may visit the EPA National Pretreatment Program website for more information on waste water treatment involving Biosolids/Sludge.


For more information please contact the NDPDES Program.




Dental Amalgam Rule

As you may know, the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) published a new rule, the Dental Amalgam Standard (40 CFR 441), on June 14, 2017. This rule (effective July 14, 2017) requires dental offices that place and/or remove amalgam to install and maintain amalgam separators or equivalent devices, implement specified Best Management Practice (BMPs), and keep records. All dental offices, except mobile units and those practicing a few exempted specialties, are required to submit a One-Time Compliance Report (OTC). The North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality (department) will implement the Dental Amalgam Standard for all dental offices that discharge to a Publicly Owned Treatment Works (POTW) located outside Bismarck, Mandan, Fargo, West Fargo, and Grand Forks.

  • For dental offices that do not place and/or remove amalgam,
  • i. The OTC report must be submitted by December 31, 2019 to: North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality 918 East Divide Avenue – Division of Water Quality Bismarck, ND 58501-1947

  • For dental offices that do place and/or remove amalgam,
  •  i. One amalgam separator or equivalent device must be installed and operational and;
  • ii. Specified BMPs must be in place and;
  • iii. Record keeping requirements must be implemented by July 14, 2020.

  • Please Note: The department has made deadlines for submitting reports earlier than the rule requires to allow sufficient time to review all information and confirm compliance by October 12, 2020. Dental offices that have opened or have transferred ownership after July 14, 2017 are required to be in compliance when first discharging and submit the OTC report within 90 days of discharging dental amalgam process wastewater to the city sewer system.


    Email List (click to expand) then click "Program" to sort

    -->
    Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
    Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater - Program Manager 701.328.5213
    Collins James jcollins@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - TMDLs 701.328.5161
    Crowdus Kory kcrowdus@nd.gov WQ — Spill Investigation 701.328.5202
    DeVries Sam sgdevries@nd.gov WQ — Permits 701.328.5215
    Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ — Permits - CAFO/AFO 701.328.5228
    Gleich Casey ctgleich@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater 701.328.4164
    Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - Database Mgmt 701.328.5292
    Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Stormwater 701.328.5242
    Hargiss Mike mhargiss@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - TMDLs 701.499.5209
    Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Program Manager 701.328.5234
    Harries Alison aharries@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater - Database Mgmt 701.328.5217
    Husband Heather hhusband@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - TMDLs 701.537.2043
    Kitzes Edwin ekitzes@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - TMDLs 701.328.5253
    Lang Jeremy jmlang@nd.gov WQ — Permits - CAFO/AFO 701.328.5219
    Larsen Aaron allarsen@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - Program Manager 701.328.5230
    Nett Joe jnett@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management 701.328.5227
    Nieraeth Shawna sNieraeth@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater 701.328.5267
    O'Gorman Brian bogorman@nd.gov WQ — Spill Investigation 701.328.5177
    Olson Paul paulrolson@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management 701.328.5233
    Peterson Andrew awpeterson@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater 701.328.5294
    Piper Dianna dpiper@nd.gov WQ — Administrative 701.328.5210
    Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov WQ — Director 701.328.5225
    Roerick Jeff jroerick@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Discharges 701.328.5240
    Sandness Greg gsandnes@nd.gov WQ — Watershed Management - NPS 701.328.5232
    Sandvick Duane dsandvick@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Stormwater 701.328.5260
    Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Database Mgmt 701.328.5235
    Souder Taylor tSouder@nd.gov WQ — Spill Investigation 701.328.5236
    Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ — Spill Investigation 701.328.5241
    Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ — Permits - CAFO/AFO 701.328.5244
    Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ — Spill Investigation - Program Manager 701.328.5216
    Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater 701.328.6409
    Swanberg Samantha sswanberg@nd.gov WQ — Permits - Stormwater 701.328.5239
    Uhlman Jim juhlman@nd.gov WQ — Groundwater 701.328.5296
    Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ — Permits 701.328.5237
    Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ — Special Projects 701.328.5268