Groundwater Protection Program

Carl Anderson, P.E.

Program Manager - 701.328.5213


Programs/Projects

Source Water Protection Program

The North Dakota Source Water Protection Program was developed in response to the 1996 Safe Drinking Water Act amendments that require all states to define and assess the source waters of public water systems. All public water systems that have wells or intakes are participants in the Source Water Protection Program. Three elements of the Source Water Protection Program are federally-mandated requirements and are completed by the Department of Health, while the remaining elements can be pursued voluntarily by the governing body of the public water system. The North Dakota Source Water Assessment Strategic Plan was approved by EPA in 1999.


Underground Injection Control Program

The Safe Drinking Water Act established the Underground Injection Control (UIC) Program to provide safeguards so that injection wells do not endanger current and future underground sources of drinking water (USDW). The most accessible fresh water is stored in shallow geological formations called aquifers and is the most vulnerable to contamination. These aquifers feed our lakes; provide recharge to our streams and rivers, particularly during dry periods; and serve as resources for 92 percent of public water systems in the United States.


Water Well Construction

Construction Standards

Construction of water wells and installation of pumps and pitless units is regulated under Water Well Construction Rules - NDAC 33-18-01.

Construction of monitoring wells is regulated under Groundwater Monitoring Well Construction Rules - NDAC 33-18-02.

Water Well Contractor Licensing

All drilling and construction of water wells or monitoring wells and installation of water well pumps or pitless units must be performed by a contractor certified by the North Dakota State Board of Water Well Contractors. This does not restrict someone from constructing a well for their own use on their own property.

The certified water well contractor, pump and pitless unit installer, or monitoring well contractor whose decal is on the primary equipment shall actually be in charge of its operation. A person is in charge only when the person has actual supervisory power over the work and makes onsite inspections of the work and progress.

Rules for certification of drilling contractors or pump installers are found in State Board of Water Well Contractors - NDAC 90-01 and 90-02.


Ambient Monitoring

The maintenance of a baseline description of groundwater quality is an essential element of any statewide comprehensive groundwater protection program. In recent years, concern for the quality of our environment and drinking water has increased as we learn that many states in the country have experienced groundwater contamination from a variety of point and nonpoint sources of pollution. In North Dakota, a large portion of the potable groundwater resource underlies agricultural areas.  Prior to the inception of the Groundwater Monitoring Program in 1992, only limited data was available to assess the impact of agricultural chemicals on the state's groundwater quality. The goal of the Groundwater Monitoring Program is to provide an assessment of the quality of North Dakota's groundwater resources with regard to agricultural chemical contamination.


Email List (click to expand) then click "Program" to sort

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5213
Collins Jim jcollins@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5161
Crowdus Kory kCrowdus@nd.gov WQ Spill Release 701.328.5202
Ell Mike mell@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5214
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5234
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5242
Guiliani Bill wgiuliani@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5285
Hargiss Mike mhargiss@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.499.5209
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5234
Harries Alison aharries@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5217
Husband Heather hduchsch@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.537.2043
Kannenberg Derek dkannenberg@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5296
Lang Jeremiah jmlang@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5219
Larsen Aaron allarsen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5230
Nett Joseph jnett@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5227
Nieraeth Shawna sNeiraeth@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5267
Ogorman Brian bogorman@nd.gov WQ Spill Release 701.328.5177
Olson Paul paulrolson@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5233
Peterson Andrew awpeterson@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5294
Piper Dianna dpiper@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701.328.5210
Roerick Jeffrey jroerick@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5240
Sandness Greg gsandnes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5232
Sandvick Duane dsandvick@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5260
Schick McKenzie mschick@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5235
Souder Taylor tSouder@nd.gov WQ Spill Release 701.328.5236
Starr Sarah sstarr@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5215
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Release 701.328.5241
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Release 701.328.5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.6409
Swanberg Samantha sswanberg@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5239
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5237
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5268