Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Fund (PTRCF)

David Glatt

Director, Department of Environmental Quality


The North Dakota Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Fund was established by the 1989 North Dakota State Legislature to financially assist tank owners for cleanup costs and third-party liability caused by petroleum contamination.

All owners or operators of aboveground or underground petroleum storage tanks in North Dakota are required to register their tanks with the Fund and pay an annual registration fee of $100 for each aboveground tank and $100 for each underground tank. Violation of this law is a class B misdemeanor.

If a petroleum release occurs or petroleum contamination is discovered, an eligible tank owner is reimbursed 90 percent of necessary and reasonable costs between $5,000 and $155,000 for cleanup of contamination or third-party liability. The Fund reimburses 100 percent of costs between $155,000 and $1,000,000.


Application for Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Fund (SFN 17017)

Environmental Consultant Expenses Worksheet (SFN 18731)

Excavation Expenses Worksheet (SFN 17331)

Petroleum Release Remediation - N.D.C.C. § 23.1-12

Petroleum Tank Registration (SFN 17132)

Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Fund - N.D. Admin. Code § 45-10

Sale or Disposal of Petroleum Storage Tanks (SFN 50884)

Tank Removal and Cleanup Guidelines

Department of Environmental Quality
918 E. Divide Ave, 4th Floor
Bismarck, ND 58501

H: Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
P: (701) 328.5150
F: (701) 328.5200


Office of the Director Employee Email List

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Fowler Nicolle nfowler@nd.gov DEQ Boiler Inspection 701-541-2113
Fritz Ann afritz@nd.gov Directors Office
Glatt Dave dglatt@nd.gov Directors Office
Haberstroh Gary ghaberst@nd.gov Directors Office
Jacobson Beth bjacobso@nd.gov DEQ Grants & Boilier Inspection
Johnson Allen ajohnson@nd.gov Directors Office
Kvislen Carolyn caKvislen@nd.gov Directors Office
Miller Melissa mmiller@nd.gov Directors Office
Piper Dianna dpiper@nd.gov Directors Office 701.328.5210
Rolczynski Vincent vrolczynski@nd.gov DEQ Boiler Inspection 701-781-0528
Seime Trevor tsseime@nd.gov DEQ Boiler Inspection 701-220-4723
Skraba Renee rskraba@nd.gov DEQ Boiler Inspection 701-400-1043

Last Updated: 07/18/2016 Test Site