Making Your Public Comments Count

View Rules, Regulations and Documents Currently Open for Public Comment

People can get frustrated when they take the time to submit written or verbal public comments on a regulatory proposal, and at the end of the process, the final rule or regulation doesn’t seem to reflect their comments. They may walk away with the feeling their comments didn't really matter.

This is not true. Public participation is essential to developing more effective rules, regulations and permits. The North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality (NDDEQ) works hard to draft environmental protection rules and permits based on science and the law. They reach out to experts, but they also count on the public and other groups (both technical and non-technical) to identify flaws and to offer solutions to reach the optimal outcome, i.e., protective, reasonable regulations without unintended consequences.

The following information is provided to assist the general public and other stakeholders in making effective public comments.

Keys to Effective Public Comments

Comments that provide new information the agency has not yet considered or that offer possible solutions are helpful.

  • Point out unintended effects.
  • For instance, in 2013 NDDEQ staff recommended a revision of the state's septic pumper rule. These recommended changes to the rule were based on technical comments received during the public comment period. Because of the comments, the final rule allowed more flexibility for the business owner, avoiding some unintended consequences while maintaining environmental compliance.

  • If possible, provide technical information.
  • Certain individuals or groups can provide industry-specific analytical information that may be beyond NDDEQ’s expertise, thereby helping to refine the rule or permit under consideration. For instance, recent advancements in technology and materials may make some rules obsolete.

  • Point to a solution, rather than just the problem.
  • Although helpful to explain why a rule won't work, it is more helpful to suggest constructive alternatives and substitute language to address the concern or problem.

Common Comment Mistakes

Comments that offer opinions or raise questions unrelated to the proposed rule or permit are not so helpful.

  • A comment is not a vote.
  • The public comment process is not a vote. One well-supported comment is often more informative than a hundred emails or form letters raising the same point. In cases where this occurs, the NDDEQ will not respond to each comment individually but will note it received the same comment multiple times.

  • Comments that are not specific to the rulemaking or permit proposal are not relevant.
  • Read and understand the propoed rule or permit that you are commenting on. For example, if the proposed regulation concerns updating the water quality standards and a comment is submited regarding air quality, staff will not respond to it due to its lack of relevancy.

  • Some comments address issues that are beyond the authority of the NDDEQ.
  • As a member of the public or representative of another group, you may have a great suggestion for improving North Dakota's air, land or water quality. While the NDDEQ welcomes these ideas, implementing them may require federal, legislative or governor approval. Understanding the regulatory authority and process can help support the consideration of your ideas.

  • Questions on a proposed rule are not considered comments.
  • Questions are welcomed! However, they are not considered comments. If you have one, email or call the contact person identified in the public notice. The NDDEQ includes contact information for its rule and permit experts on the public comment page. Receiving clarification on a question may help you formulate a better comment.

We are committed to using the public notice and comment process to improve department decisions. If you have additional questions about the public notice and comment process for a specific proposal, please contact us at (701)328-5150, or visit our website at deq.nd.gov.

Public Comment Tips

Employee Email List

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Adams Renae radams@nd.gov Chemistry
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5213
Anderson Janell jdAnderson@nd.gov 701-328-5204
Auen Cindy cauen@nd.gov Chemistry
Bartholomay Craig cbarthol@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701.328.6626
Baumgartner Paul pBaumgartner@nd.gov AQ Ambient Monitoring
Bingert Matt mbingert@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Bruschwein David dbruschw@nd.gov Municipal Facilities Division 701.328.5259
Carman Patty pcarman@nd.gov Municipal Facilities Division 701.328.5211
Cech Charles ccech@nd.gov Chemistry
Collins Jim jcollins@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5161
Colton Connie ccolton@nd.gov Air Quality Division
Crowdus Kory kCrowdus@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701.328.5202
Deibert Karen kdeibert@nd.gov AQ Radiation Control
Delzer Alexis adelzer@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701.328.5166
DeVries Sam sgDeVries@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5215
DeWald Matthew mdewald@nd.gov Chemistry
Disney Robert rdisney@nd.gov WM Hazardous Waste 701.328.5166
Djamen Paul -Yvann pdjamen@nd.gov 701.328.5209
Doyle Heather hdoyle@nd.gov 701-328-5178
Erickson Ernest eberickson@nd.gov AQ Ambient Monitoring
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5234
Fasching Skye skye.fasching@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701.328.5166
Fisher Shannon smfisher@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701.328.5220
Fowler Nicolle nfowler@nd.gov 701-541-2113
Fritz Ann afritz@nd.gov Directors Office
Gabriel John jlgabriel@nd.gov Chemistry
Gebhardt Mary mgebhardt@nd.gov Waste Management Division 701.328.5166
Gertis Daniel dgertis@nd.gov 701.624.5332
Getzlaff Alexis agetzlaff@nd.gov 701.328.5171
Glatt Dave dglatt@nd.gov Directors Office
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.4164
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5242
Guiliani Bill wgiuliani@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5285
Haaland Rob rphaaland@nd.gov Chemistry
Haberstroh Gary ghaberst@nd.gov Directors Office
Hall Derek dahall@nd.gov WM Hazardous Waste 701.328.5166
Hargiss Mike mhargiss@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.499.5209
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5234
Harries Alison aharries@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5217
Harrison Kylee kharrison@nd.gov
Heinle Shawn swheinle@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701.328.6627
Herreid Stacey sherreid@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701.328.5287
Hinnenkamp Keith khinnenk@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Husband Heather hhusband@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.537.2043
Hyatt Charles chyatt@nd.gov Waste Management Division 701.328.5166
Jacobson Beth bjacobso@nd.gov Directors Office
Jahraus Sherri sjahraus@nd.gov Air Quality Division
Johnson Allen ajohnson@nd.gov Directors Office
Johnson Kirk kijohnson@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701.328.5166
Jones Cristy Cristy.Jones@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Kangas Jane jkangas@nd.gov AQ Indoor Air 701.328.5188
Kannenberg Derek dkannenberg@nd.gov WM Hazardous Waste 701.328.5296
Kautzman Rheanna rkautzman@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Kitzes Edwin eKitzes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5292
Kline Gary gkline@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Knapp Allan aKnapp@nd.gov AQ Radiation Control
Kosse Kevin kkosse@nd.gov Chemistry
Kvislen Carolyn caKvislen@nd.gov Directors Office
Lamphear Tammy tmlamphear@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701.328.5295
Lang Jeremiah jmlang@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5219
Larsen Aaron allarsen@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5230
Lawson James jlawson@nd.gov AQ Xray
Lee Laura llee@nd.gov Municipal Facilities Division 701.328.5166
Lightfoot Allison aLightfoot@nd.gov 701.328.5285
Loutzenhiser Mark mloutzenhiser@nd.gov AQ Ambient Monitoring
Lundquist Tracy tlundquist@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701.328.5166
Markhouse Robert rmarkhou@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701.328.6623
Martin Russell rsmartin@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Martin Shawn srMartin@nd.gov 701.328.5212
Mayer Justin jmayer@nd.gov AQ Ambient Monitoring
Miller Adam Adam.Miller@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Miller Elijah elijah.miller@nd.gov AQ Ambient Monitoring
Miller Melissa mmiller@nd.gov Directors Office
Mills Ryan rmills@nd.gov AQ Ambient Monitoring
Mittelsteadt Mark mmittels@nd.gov WM Underground Storage Tank 701.328.5166
Murray Mitch mjMurray@nd.gov 701.328.5207
Neale Thomas TJNeale@nd.gov Chemistry
Nemeth Thomas TNemeth@nd.gov Chemistry
Nett Joseph jnett@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5227
Nieraeth Shawna sNeiraeth@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5267
Ogorman Brian bogorman@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701.328.5177
Olson Brooke bmolson@nd.gov AQ Radiation Control
Olson Paul paulrolson@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5233
Otto Justin jotto@nd.gov AQ Asbestos Control
Panchol Reuben rpanchol@nd.gov WM Underground Storage Tank 701.328.5166
Papalichev Hristo hpapalichev@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701.328.5166
Patrick Dale dpatrick@nd.gov AQ Radiation Control
Peterson Andrew awpeterson@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.5294
Peterson Eric epeterso@nd.gov Chemistry
Peterson Wyatt Wyatt.Peterson@nd.gov AQ Radiation Control
Pfaff Rebekah rpfaff@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Piper Dianna dpiper@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701.328.5210
Poppke Ted tpoppke@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701.328.5166
Quarnstrom James jquarnst@nd.gov Chemistry
Rivinius Nicole nrivinius@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701.328.5212
Roerick Jeffrey jroerick@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5240
Rolczynski Vincent vrolczynski@nd.gov 701-781-0528
Roob Christine croob@nd.gov WM Hazardous Waste 701.328.5166
Rookey Adam aRookey@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Sandness Greg gsandnes@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701.328.5232
Sandvick Duane dsandvick@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5191
Schafer Jacob jrschafer@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701.328.6375
Schick McKenzie mschick@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management
Schiermeister Robin raschiermeister@nd.gov WM Underground Storage Tank 701.328.5166
Schmitt Bryan brschmitt@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701.328.5299
Schneider Kyla kkschneider@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5235
Seerup Josh jSeerup@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701.328.5257
Seibel Maggie MKSeibel@nd.gov Chemistry
Seime Trevor tsseime@nd.gov 701-220-4723
Seligman Angela aseligman@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Semerad Jim jsemerad@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Skraba Renee rskraba@nd.gov 701-400-1043
Souder Taylor tsouder@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701.328.5236
Starr Sarah sstarr@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5215
Steinman Alexis asteinman@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701.328.5258
Stewart Gregg gstewart@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701.328.6621
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701.328.5241
Stokes Jacob jstokes@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701.328.6622
Stoppler Sharmaine sstopple@nd.gov MF Clean Water SRF 701.328.5238
Stradinger David dstradinger@nd.gov AQ Radiation Control
Striebel Ivana iStriebel@nd.gov WM Hazardous Waste 701.328.5166
Stroh David destroh@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701.328.5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701.328.6409
Swanberg Samantha sswanberg@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5239
Thorstenson Craig cthorstenson@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Thorton Rhannon rThorton@nd.gov
Thorton Rhannon rThorton 701.328.5271
Tillotson LeeAnn ltillots@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701.328.5293
Tokach-Duran Elizabeth etokachduran@nd.gov MF Clean Water SRF 701.328.5256
Torgerson Brad btorgers@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701.328.5166
Trussell Diana dtrussell@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701.328.5166
Trythall Elizabeth ektrythall@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Trythall Mike mtrythal@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701.328.5269
Uhlman James jUhlman@nd.gov 328.5296
Ussatis Todd tussatis@nd.gov Chemistry
Vetter Leon lvetter@nd.gov WM Underground Storage Tank 701.328.5166
Vo Hao hvo@nd.gov MF Clean Water SRF 701.328.5222
Voth Jaden jvoth@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance
Wahl Evan emWahl@nd.gov 701.328.5278
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701.328.5237
Walsh Jeni jwalsh@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701.328.5231
Wanner Tyra twanner@nd.gov Chemistry
Washek Sandra swashek@nd.gov AQ Indoor Air
Wavra Greg gwavra@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701.328.5224
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Special Projects 701.328.5268
Wellman Aaron adwellman@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701.328.5284
Wert Joshua jewert@nd.gov 701-328-5214
Woldeyes Henok hWoldeyes@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701.328.5276