Making Your Public Comments Count

View Rules, Regulations and Documents Currently Open for Public Comment

People can get frustrated when they take the time to submit written or verbal public comments on a regulatory proposal, and at the end of the process, the final rule or regulation doesn’t seem to reflect their comments. They may walk away with the feeling their comments didn't really matter.

This is not true. Public participation is essential to developing more effective rules, regulations and permits. The North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality (NDDEQ) works hard to draft environmental protection rules and permits based on science and the law. They reach out to experts, but they also count on the public and other groups (both technical and non-technical) to identify flaws and to offer solutions to reach the optimal outcome, i.e., protective, reasonable regulations without unintended consequences.

The following information is provided to assist the general public and other stakeholders in making effective public comments.

Keys to Effective Public Comments

Comments that provide new information the agency has not yet considered or that offer possible solutions are helpful.

  • Point out unintended effects.
  • For instance, in 2013 NDDEQ staff recommended a revision of the state's septic pumper rule. These recommended changes to the rule were based on technical comments received during the public comment period. Because of the comments, the final rule allowed more flexibility for the business owner, avoiding some unintended consequences while maintaining environmental compliance.

  • If possible, provide technical information.
  • Certain individuals or groups can provide industry-specific analytical information that may be beyond NDDEQ’s expertise, thereby helping to refine the rule or permit under consideration. For instance, recent advancements in technology and materials may make some rules obsolete.

  • Point to a solution, rather than just the problem.
  • Although helpful to explain why a rule won't work, it is more helpful to suggest constructive alternatives and substitute language to address the concern or problem.

Common Comment Mistakes

Comments that offer opinions or raise questions unrelated to the proposed rule or permit are not so helpful.

  • A comment is not a vote.
  • The public comment process is not a vote. One well-supported comment is often more informative than a hundred emails or form letters raising the same point. In cases where this occurs, the NDDEQ will not respond to each comment individually but will note it received the same comment multiple times.

  • Comments that are not specific to the rulemaking or permit proposal are not relevant.
  • Read and understand the propoed rule or permit that you are commenting on. For example, if the proposed regulation concerns updating the water quality standards and a comment is submited regarding air quality, staff will not respond to it due to its lack of relevancy.

  • Some comments address issues that are beyond the authority of the NDDEQ.
  • As a member of the public or representative of another group, you may have a great suggestion for improving North Dakota's air, land or water quality. While the NDDEQ welcomes these ideas, implementing them may require federal, legislative or governor approval. Understanding the regulatory authority and process can help support the consideration of your ideas.

  • Questions on a proposed rule are not considered comments.
  • Questions are welcomed! However, they are not considered comments. If you have one, email or call the contact person identified in the public notice. The NDDEQ includes contact information for its rule and permit experts on the public comment page. Receiving clarification on a question may help you formulate a better comment.

We are committed to using the public notice and comment process to improve department decisions. If you have additional questions about the public notice and comment process for a specific proposal, please contact us at 701-328-5150, or visit our website at deq.nd.gov.

Public Comment Tips

Employee Email List

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Ahlstedt Carter ahlstedtcarter@nd.gov
Albaugh Karissa kAlbaugh@nd.gov 701-400-1043
Allery Ryan rjallery@nd.gov 701-328-5294
Anderson Carl cjanders@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5213
Anderson Janell jdAnderson@nd.gov 701-328-5204
Andes Alicia aandes@nd.gov 701-328-5298
Bartholomay Craig cbarthol@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701-328-6626
Baumgartner Paul pBaumgartner@nd.gov AQ Ambient Monitoring 701-328-5181
Baxley James jbaxley@nd.gov
Becker Sarah 701-328-9151
Bell Marlon moBell@nd.gov 701-328-5221
Bingert Matt mbingert@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance 701-328-5192
Brazil Emily ebrazil@nd.gov 701-328-5296
Brunner Sarah sabrunner@nd.gov
Bruschwein David dbruschw@nd.gov Municipal Facilities Division 701-328-5259
Budde Nick nrbudde@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5267
Cannon Amy amy.cannon@nd.gov
Cardwell Raina rlCardwell@nd.gov 701-328-1336
Carman Patty pcarman@nd.gov Municipal Facilities Division 701-328-5251
Cech Charles ccech@nd.gov Chemistry
Christianson David David.Christianson@nd.gov 701-328-5178
Coats Julie jcoats@nd.gov 701-328-5252
Collins Jim jcollins@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5161
Crowdus Kory kCrowdus@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5202
Dahl Lane ldDahl@nd.gov 701-328-5222
Davis Sarah smdavis@nd.gov
Deibert Karen kdeibert@nd.gov AQ Radiation Control 701-328-4458
Delzer Alexis adelzer@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701-328-5282
DeWald Matthew mdewald@nd.gov Chemistry
Dillmann Nikki ndillmann@nd.gov
Earnest Samuel searnest
Erb Myles mErb@nd.gov 701-328-6622
Erickson Ernest eberickson@nd.gov AQ Ambient Monitoring 701-328-5173
Espe Brady bespe@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5228
Fasching Skye skye.fasching@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701-328-5272
Fisher Shannon smfisher@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701-328-5220
Fowler Nicolle nfowler@nd.gov 701-541-2113
Freimark Joel jfreimark@nd.gov 701-328-5096
Friesz Roxela rFriesz@nd.gov 701-328-5297
Fritz Ann afritz@nd.gov Directors Office 701-328-5150
Gabriel John jlgabriel@nd.gov Chemistry
Galloway Noah ngalloway 701-328-5253
Gertis Daniel dgertis@nd.gov 701-857-8638
Gilley Cameron cgilley@nd.gov 701-328-5210
Glatt Dave dglatt@nd.gov Directors Office 701-328-5150
Gleich Casey ctGleich@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-4164
Gorman Erica egorman@nd.gov
Griffith Olivia ogriffith@nd.gov 701-328-6624
Gross Joe jlgross@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5292
Grossman Dallas dgrossma@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5242
Gulleson Alison agulleson
Gurske Carolyn cgurske@nd.gov 701-328-1678
Haberstroh Gary ghaberst@nd.gov Directors Office 701-328-5206
Hall Derek dahall@nd.gov WM Hazardous Waste 701-328-5168
Hansey Brittany brHansey@nd.gov 701-328-5201
Hanson Lawrence lawrence.hanson@nd.gov 701-328-5291
Haroldson Marty mharolds@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5234
Harrison Kylee kharrison@nd.gov 701-328-5187
Hasche Alysha ajhasche@nd.gov
Heinle Shawn swheinle@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701-328-6627
Hermanson Chad hermansonchad@nd.gov 701-328-1606
Herreid Stacey sherreid@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5287
Hilzendeger Bruce bhilzendeger@nd.gov 701-328-5199
Hinnenkamp Keith khinnenk@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance 701-328-5196
Hite Nicole nhite@nd.gov 701-328-1676
Houle Brian bHoule@nd.gov 701-328-5193
Hulst Annelise ahulst@nd.gov 701-328-1377
Hulst Darci dhulst@nd.gov
Hummel Evan erHummel@nd.gov
Hummel Micah mcHummel@nd.gov
Hyatt Charles chyatt@nd.gov Waste Management Division 701-328-5166
Ilunga Frederick Filunga@nd.gov 701-328-5176
Jacobson Beth bjacobso@nd.gov Directors Office 701-328-5150
Jacobson Sarah sarah.jacobson@nd.gov
Johnson Allen ajohnson@nd.gov Directors Office 701-328-5150
Jones Jordan jnjones@nd.gov 701-328-5260
Joynt Emily eJoynt@nd.gov 701-328-5239
Kaiser Don dkaiser@nd.gov 701-328-5151
Kangas Jane jkangas@nd.gov AQ Indoor Air 701-298-4637
Kannenberg Derek dkannenberg@nd.gov WM Hazardous Waste 701-328-5160
Kosse Kevin kkosse@nd.gov Chemistry
Kritzberger Ryan rKritzberger@nd.gov 701-328-9035
Krivoruchka Darby dkrivoruchka@nd.gov
Kruske Montana mkruske@nd.gov 701-328-5172
Kumar Sankalp kumarsankalp@nd.gov 701-328-5809
Lawson James jlawson@nd.gov AQ Xray 701-328-6403
Lee Laura llee@nd.gov Municipal Facilities Division 701-328-6628
Leingang Carolyn caLeingang@nd.gov Directors Office 701-328-5150
Letzring Brianna bletzring@nd.gov 701-328-9095
Luedeman Kennedy kenluedeman@nd.gov 701-328-5361
Machart Craig cmachart@nd.gov 701-781-0528
Martin Russell rsmartin@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance 701-328-4639
Martin Shawn srMartin@nd.gov 701-328-5212
May Rebecca rmay@nd.gov
McCauley Jenna Jenna.McCauley@nd.gov
McCusker Kristie kmmccusker@nd.gov 701-328-5150
McDaniel Paige pMcdaniel@nd.gov 701-328-2381
McGee Julia jmcgee@nd.gov 701-328-1380
Miller Adam Adam.Miller@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance 701-328-5266
Miller Elijah elijah.miller@nd.gov AQ Ambient Monitoring 701-328-5286
Miller Meridith meridith.miller@nd.gov 701-328-5166
Miller Michael mpmiller@nd.gov 701-328-5194
Mills Ryan rmills@nd.gov AQ Ambient Monitoring 701-328-5254
Milner Christopher cmilner@nd.gov 701-328-9060
Murray Mitch mjMurray@nd.gov 701-328-5250
Nelson Amber amjnelson@nd.gov 701-328-5210
Norton Chance cdnorton@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5253
Novak Emilee ejnovak@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5240
O'Gorman Brian bogorman@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5177
Olson Brooke bmolson@nd.gov AQ Radiation Control 701-328-5182
Olson Jaxsyn jaxsyn.olson@nd.gov 701-328-1382
Otto Justin jotto@nd.gov AQ Asbestos Control 701-328-5246
Panchol Reuben rpanchol@nd.gov WM Underground Storage Tank 701-328-5167
Papalichev Hristo hpapalichev@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701-328-5223
Peltier Danielle dspeltier@nd.gov 701-328-5279
Peters Bryce bpeters@nd.gov 701-328-5209
Peterson Eric epeterso@nd.gov Chemistry
Peterson Wyatt Wyatt.Peterson@nd.gov AQ Radiation Control 701-328-5184
Pfaff Rebekah rpfaff@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance 701-328-5263
Popowski Marcus mpopowski@nd.gov 701-328-1389
Poppke Ted tpoppke@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701-328-5264
Potter Darla dpotter@nd.gov 701-328-5101
Quach Anthony aquach@nd.gov 701-328-5156
Quarnstrom James jquarnst@nd.gov Chemistry
Resch Christine cresch@nd.gov
Roberts Emily robertsemily@nd.gov 701-328-5024
Rockeman Karl krockema@nd.gov Water Quality Division 701-328-5225
Ronning-Schimetz Kathleen kronning-schimetz@nd.gov 701-328-5276
Roob Christine croob@nd.gov WM Hazardous Waste 701-298-4638
Rose Michaela mRose@nd.gov 701-328-6404
Sandvick Duane dsandvick@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5191
Schafer Jacob jrschafer@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701-328-6375
Schick McKenzie mschick@nd.gov WQ Watershed Management 701-328-5288
Schiermeister Robin raschiermeister@nd.gov WM Underground Storage Tank 701-328-5149
Schiwal Alyssa aschiwal@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-5159
Schmitt Bryan brschmitt@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701-328-5299
Schmitt Taylor taschmitt@nd.gov 701-328-5027
Schneider Kyla kkschneider@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance 701-328-5218
Schuett Patrick pschuett@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5235
Schwindt Devin dSchwindt@nd.gov
Seerup Josh jSeerup@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5257
Seibel Maggie MKSeibel@nd.gov Chemistry 701-328-5231
Seime Trevor tsseime@nd.gov 701-220-4723
Semerad Jim jsemerad@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance 701-328-5179
Skjod Jennifer jSkjod@nd.gov 701-328-5150
Stewart Gregg gstewart@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701-328-6621
Stockdill Scott sjstockdill@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5241
Stocker Chris CJStocker@nd.gov
Stokes Jacob jstokes@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-6622
Stoppler Sharmaine sstopple@nd.gov MF Clean Water SRF 701-328-5238
Stradinger David dstradinger@nd.gov AQ Radiation Control 701-328-6410
Striebel Ivana iStriebel@nd.gov WM Hazardous Waste 701-328-5265
Stroh David deStroh@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance 701-328-5229
Strommen Rachel rstrommen@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5244
Suess Bill bsuess@nd.gov WQ Spill Investigation 701-328-5216
Suggs Shannon ssuggs@nd.gov WQ Ground Water Monitoring 701-328-6409
Thomas Joel jjthomas@nd.gov 701-328-5257
Thorsteinson Kari KmThorsteinson@nd.gov 701-328-1337
Thorton Rhannon rThorton@nd.gov 701-328-5271
Tillotson LeeAnn ltillots@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5293
Tokach-Duran Elizabeth etokachduran@nd.gov MF Clean Water SRF 701-328-5256
Torgerson Brad btorgers@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701-328-5165
Traxel Kelsey ktraxel@nd.gov 701-328-5258
Trussell Diana dtrussell@nd.gov WM Solid Waste 701-328-5164
Trythall Elizabeth ektrythall@nd.gov AQ Permitting & Compliance 701-328-5153
Trythall Mike mtrythal@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5269
Uhlman James jUhlman@nd.gov 701-328-5163
Ulrich Shawn ulrichshawn@nd.gov 701-328-5150
Ussatis Todd tussatis@nd.gov Chemistry
Veach Nessa nveach@nd.gov 701-328-9111
Vetter Leon lvetter@nd.gov WM Underground Storage Tank 701-328-5174
Von Wahlde Joseph Joseph.VonWahlde@nd.gov 701-328-5207
Wahl Evan emWahl@nd.gov 701-328-5278
Waldron Feld Sarah sfeld@nd.gov WQ NDPDES Permitting 701-328-5237
Wallery Paige pWallery@nd.gov 701-328-5243
Wanner Tyra twanner@nd.gov Chemistry
Washek Sandra swashek@nd.gov AQ Indoor Air 701-328-5190
Wavra Greg gwavra@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5224
Wax Peter pwax@nd.gov WQ Special Projects 701-328-5268
Wellman Aaron adwellman@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701-328-5284
Wert Joshua jewert@nd.gov 701-328-5214
Wingerter Vance vance.wingerter@nd.gov 701-328-5175
Wirth Cherreka cwirth@nd.gov 701-328-9166
Woutat Tanner twoutat@nd.gov 701-328-5233