Backflow Prevention Cross Connection Control


The North Dakota Statutes (North Dakota Administrative Code 33.1-17-01-19) require that water suppliers provide cross-connection control within their own water supply systems. Commercial and residential facilities are required to protect the potable water supply in accordance with the local jurisdictional plumbing code. If there is not a local code, the North Dakota Plumbing Code applies.

There are two types of Backflow Prevention and Cross Connection Control Programs.

Containment Program:
Under the Containment Backflow Prevention and Cross Connection Control Program, public water systems will be required to survey the system and identify all potential cross connections that occur within publicly owned buildings or property (city hall, fire station, etc.) and ensure all such hazards are protected by means of the proper backflow prevention device or assembly. This program is required.

Comprehensive Program:
Under the Comprehensive Backflow Prevention and Cross Connection Control Program, public water systems will be required to survey the system and identify all potential cross connections (car washes, restaurants, apartment buildings, etc.) and ensure all such hazards are protected by means of the proper backflow prevention device or assembly. This program is voluntary.

This page will provide you with the tools, references, and guidance documents necessary to design and implement your community’s Backflow Prevention and Cross Connection Control Program. Appendix F is no longer applicable to the state of North Dakota, and has therefore been removed.

Upcoming Trainings:

November 9 – 11: McKenzie County Courthouse
201 5th St NW Watford City, ND 58854
- Contact Brian Day at 701-214-8315

November 16 – 18: Days Inn by Wyndham Fargo/Casselton
2050 Governor’s Dr. Casselton, ND 58012
- Contact Karen Thomas at 701-595-3696

December 1 – 3: Minot Public Library
516 2nd Ave SW Minot, ND 58701
- Contact Brian Day at 701-214-8315

Division of Municipal Facilities Employee Email List (click to expand)

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Bartholomay Craig cbarthol@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701-328-6626
Bell Marlon moBell@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701-328-5221
Bruschwein David dbruschw@nd.gov Municipal Facilities Division 701-328-5259
Carman Patty pcarman@nd.gov Municipal Facilities Division 701-328-5251
Fisher Shannon smfisher@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701-328-5220
Heinle Shawn swheinle@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701-328-6627
Herreid Stacey sherreid@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5287
Lee Laura llee@nd.gov Municipal Facilities Division 701-328-5166
Martin Shawn srMartin@nd.gov MF Clean Water SRF 701-328-5212
Murray Mitch mjMurray@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701-328-5207
Schafer Jacob jrschafer@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701-328-6375
Schmitt Bryan brschmitt@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701-328-5299
Seerup Josh jSeerup@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5257
Seibel Maggie MKSeibel@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5231
Stewart Gregg gstewart@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701-328-6621
Stokes Jacob jstokes@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-6622
Stoppler Sharmaine sstopple@nd.gov MF Clean Water SRF 701-328-5238
Tillotson LeeAnn ltillots@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5293
Tokach-Duran Elizabeth etokachduran@nd.gov MF Clean Water SRF 701-328-5256
Trythall Mike mtrythal@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5269
Uhlman James jUhlman@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701-328-5163
Upgren Joshua joshua.upgren@nd.gov MF Operator Training & Inspection 701-328-6623
Vo Hao hvo@nd.gov MF Clean Water SRF 701-328-5222
Wahl Evan emWahl@nd.gov MF Clean Water SRF 701-328-5278
Washek Sandra swashek@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5190
Wavra Greg gwavra@nd.gov MF Drinking Water 701-328-5224
Wellman Aaron adwellman@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701-328-5284
Woldeyes Henok hWoldeyes@nd.gov MF Drinking Water SRF 701-328-5276