Indoor Air

All of us face a variety of risks to our health as we go about our day-to-day lives. Driving in cars, flying in planes, engaging in recreational activities, and being exposed to environmental pollutants all pose varying degrees of risk. Some risks are simply unavoidable. Some we choose to accept because to do otherwise would restrict our ability to lead our lives the way we want. We might choose to avoid some risks if we had the opportunity to make informed choices. Indoor air pollution is a risk that you can do something about.

Questions may be addressed to the North Dakota Department of Health at 701.328.5188, or email Justin Otto (jotto@nd.gov).

In the last several years, a growing body of scientific evidence has indicated that indoor air may be more polluted than outdoor air. Other research indicates that people spend about 90 percent of their time indoors. Thus, for many people, the risks to health may be greater due to exposure to air pollution indoors than outdoors. In addition, people who may be exposed to indoor air pollutants for the longest periods of time are often those most susceptible to the effects of indoor air pollution. Such groups include the young, the elderly and the chronically ill, especially those who suffer from respiratory or cardiovascular disease. Learn more about Indoor Air Contaminants to help protect your family.




Companies that Conduct Indoor Air Quality Testing

The following list of private environmental consulting/testing companies and laboratories have contacted the Department and indicated that they have the ability to conduct IAQ testing.

Consultant List

Contact Us

Dale Patrick

Program Manager

Radioactive Materials | X-Ray | Indoor Air Quality | Lead–Based Paint | Asbestos | Radon

Division of Air Quality
918 E. Divide Ave, 2nd Floor
Bismarck, ND 58501

H: Monday - Friday: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
P: 701.328.5188
F: 701.328.5185
Asbestos Email: asbestos@nd.gov
For immediate assistance, please use the contact information above.

Filter 
Last Name First Name E-Mail Address Program Phone
Kangas Jane jkangas@nd.gov AQ Indoor Air 701.328.5188
Otto Justin jotto@nd.gov AQ Asbestos Control
Patrick Dale dpatrick@nd.gov AQ Indoor Air
Peterson Wyatt Wyatt.Peterson@nd.gov AQ Indoor Air
Washek Sandra swashek@nd.gov AQ Lead Based Paint

Last Updated: 09/08/2016