Clean Power Plan — [Repealed June 2019]

EPA has promulgated a new rule aimed at reducing greenhouse gas emissions from existing Electric Utility Generating Units, 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart UUUU: Emission Guidelines for Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Compliance Times for Electric Utility Generating Units—a.k.a. The Clean Power Plan.

Questions may be addressed to the North Dakota Department of Environmental Quality at 701.328.5188, or email

Documents & References

    EPA's Repeal

    A copy of the repeal as printed in the Monday, July 8, 2019 Federal Register.

    EPA's Final Rule

    A copy of the final rule as printed in the Friday, October 23, 2015 Federal Register.

    Clean Power Plan: State at a Glance

    A copy of the EPA's summary of the Clean Power Plan's requirements for North Dakota.

    The EPA has a site of resources to assist in developing state plans to comply with the Clean Power Plan located HERE.

    North Dakota Summary of Rule

    A Department summary of the Clean Power Plan's Requirements for North Dakota.

    Slides Presented at the November 2015 Public Meetings

    A copy of the slides presented at the November 2015 public hearings.

    NDDoH Comments to EPA

    The North Dakota Department of Health's Comments to the EPA about the Proposed Federal Plan Requirements for Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Electric Utility Generating Units Constructed on or Before January 8, 2014; Model Trading Rules; Amendments to Framework Regulations.

Legal Actions

Legal briefs on the Clean Power Plan of which North Dakota is a party. The EPA will have a chance to respond to the briefs followed by an opportunity to respond by the petitioners.

Public Comments on Implementation of Clean Power Plan


American Lung Association Comments

Alexander Tobias Comments

Anonymous Comments

American Thoracic Society Comments

August Tribbet Comments


Basin Electric Comments

Beulah Chamber of Commerce Comments

Beulah EPA Resolution

Beulah Public Schools Resolution

Bill Tveit Comments (1) (2) (3)

Boilermakers Union Comments

Brandon Allen Comments

Brian Brinkman Comments

Bruce Bale Comments (1) (2)

Bryon Bristodeau Comments


Casey Wolf Comments

Center - Stanton Public School Resolution

Chris Martin Comments

Chris Mills Comments

Christopher Graham Comments

Congressman Cramer's Comments

Coteau Comments

Coyote Creek Mining Co, LLC Comments


Dakota Resource Council Comments

Dale Gilje Comments

David Straley Comments

Delphia Nelson Comments

Doug Rothe Comments

DRC et. al. Comments


Edward Schuessler Comments

Electrical Workers Union Comments

Eric Fewson Comments

Eric Marten Comments

Essentia Health Comments


Falkirk Mining Co. Comments

Farm Bureau Comments


Gary Bistodeau Comments

Gerald Urie Comments

Gerry Pfau Comments

Great River Energy Comments (1) (2)

Greater North Dakota Association Comments


Hazen Chamber of Commerce Comments

Hazen EPA Resolution

Hazen School Resolution


Isaac Curtis Comments


Jacob Walters Comments

Jade Monroe Comments

James Schmit Comments

Jason Brozek Comments

Jeanne Zeman Comments

Jesse Bearinger Comments

Jesse Zeman Comments

Jim Kambeitz Comments

Jim Lein Comments

John Martin Comments

Joseph Haff Comments

Joshua Neuhard Comments

Juan Sanchez Comments


Kayla Wentz Comments

Kelly Schuttler Comments


LBaglien Comments

Lignite Energy Council Comments

Leslie Korgel Comments

Linda Price Comments

Lindsey Hefta Comments


Mary Johnson Comments

Mathew Backer Comments

Matthew Iverson Comments

McLean County Coop Comments

Montana Dakota Utilities Comments

Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance Comments

Michael Graham Comments (1, 2)

Michael Malles Comments

Michael Prantner Comments

Mikel Mathias Comments

Minnkota Power Coop Comments

Mitch Haabala Comments

Mitch Senkler Comments


ND Association of Oil and Gas Producing Counties Comments

ND Dept. of Commerce Comments

North Dakota Alliance for Renewable Energy Comments

NextEra Energy Resources Comments

Nicholas West Comments

NoDak Energy Services Comments

North American Coal Comments

North American Coal Royalty Company Comments


Oliver County Board Resolution

Otter Tail Power Company Comments


Patty Mosset Comments (1) (2)

Peter Pfeifer Comments

Public Service Commission Comments



Red River Valley Co-op Power Association Comments

Rich Whitcomb Comments


Sam Curtis Jr. Comments

Sanford Medical Group Comments

Senator Heitkamp Comments

Senator Hoeven Comments (1) (2)

Senator Jessica Unruh Comments

Shaun Benson Comments

Shawn Mcquoid Comments

Sierra Club Comments

Steve Burke Comments


Thomas Remkiewicz Comments (1) (2)

Travis Gerjets Comments

Troy Leingang Comments


Underwood School District Resolution


Veronica Bistodeau Comments

Vision West Resolution

Vivian Mathews Comments


Washburn School Resolution

Wayne Johnson Comments

Wendelin Piatz Comments

X, Y, Z

 Download All Comments

Last Updated: 07/08/2019